---
title: "Professional Messages"
canonical: "https://wiki.patientsknowbest.com/space/MAN/4062511127/Professional%20Messages"
format: markdown
---
> Macro (toc)

The Messages page for professionals is very similar to that of patients. To learn more about this functionality, please click [here](https://pkbdev.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/MAN/pages/3624927264).

# Additional functionality Professionals have with Messages

Professionals are able to ‘hand over’ a discussion to another professional who has access to the patient’s record. 

Professionals can archive & assign messages. To learn more about this feature, please click [here](https://pkbdev.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/MAN/pages/4062543906).

The messaging feature allows professionals to securely communicate with other members of their team to support coordinated care. See [‘How do I message a colleague’.](https://wiki.patientsknowbest.com/space/MAN/4062511127/Professional+messages#How-do-I-message-a-colleague?)

# Hand Over a Message

Click into the discussion and click the ‘Hand over’ button at the bottom of the page. Complete the form. You can only hand over a discussion if you are the only professional in the discussion. If there are other professionals in the discussion then the 'Handover' button will not display, and instead you will have the option to 'Leave discussion.'

![image-20240426-070819.png](media://ea468bba-5c06-4ab3-aa57-74510ea53a83)

# Leaving a Message?

Click into the discussion and click the 'Leave discussion' button at the bottom of the page. The page will refresh and you will no longer be a participant. This means you cannot add or see any new responses, unless a participant adds you back in using the 'Add contact' button.  


![image-20240426-070836.png](media://ad68d91b-19fb-4742-a7a3-096b4d5fa256)

# Filter My Inbox

At the top of the 'Messages' page in PKB there is a filter that you can use to switch between different message types. By default, you will see ‘Active’ messages - these are messages that have not been assigned or archived. When a message is created, it appears in the 'Active' filter. It will only stop being 'Active' if someone on your team archives the message, or assigns it to themselves. 

You can switch the filter to 'Assigned’ or  ‘Archived’ by clicking the drop down in the type field. You can also use the date filters to view messages from a specific period of time.


![image-20240426-070852.png](media://75f9982c-d1c0-4070-9f86-57db9ab7ce75)

# How to start a questionnaire

For more information, please click [here](https://pkbdev.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/MAN/pages/4063133726).

# How to Call a Patient

For more information, please click [here](https://pkbdev.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/MAN/pages/4062543932)

# Message a colleague 

# If you are Deactivated From a Team

When you are deactivated from a team,  you can no longer reply to messages. Other participants in the message thread, including the patient, will see that you are deactivated and can continue the discussion. If you were the only participant in a thread with a patient, they will not be able to reply to the thread at all. 

## Further Information

# [Automatic CC](https://wiki.hub.patientsknowbest.com/wiki/spaces/MAN/pages/4063035436)

# [Assign and Archive](https://wiki.hub.patientsknowbest.com/wiki/spaces/MAN/pages/4062543906)